How to Do Chakra Meditation


If you want to know how to do chakra meditation. Here you will get everything about this. But first, let’s discuss what chakra meditation is.

Before going to chakra meditation. You must know what chakra basically is. So, Chakra is basically a Sanskrit word and it means “wheel”.

Isn’t it Interesting?

These Chakras are the center of forces which means you can send, receive the life energies through these centers.

Each Chakra has its own characteristics or functionalities. They have corresponding relationships with the various glands of your body.

Chakra Meditation is basically a spiritual practice. It reduces stress and improves health. Also, it brings some personal transformation to you.

Steps of Chakra Meditation

The main purpose of Chakra Meditation is to create a harmonious relationship within your body.  It brings all the aspects of consciousness from physical to spiritual together.

The most important part of this meditation is to accept all the levels of being. This meditation helps you to throw away all of your stress.

There are about 7 chakras in a human body which are as follows

  • The Root Chakra
  • The Sacral Chakra
  • The Solar Plexus Chakra
  • The Heart Chakra
  • The Third Eye Chakra
  • The Crown Chakra

Here are all the steps of how to do chakra Meditation. So, let’s start the discussion.

1- Comfortable Position

The first and most important thing in doing chakra meditation is of course your position. You must be in a comfortable position. Your spine must be straight but not rigid.

Sit on the floor with folded legs. If it feels uncomfortable, you can sit on a carpet or a cushion. Put your hands on the knees. Don’t get stressed.

Do find a peaceful place to do all this meditation where no one can disturb you. The time of your meditation should be of half an hour at least.

Maintain your breath

While doing this meditation, make sure your every body part is in a relaxing position. Now, let the stress melts away from you. Now, focus on your breathing. Breathe evenly and deeply.

Want to know more?

Then maintain your focus on each inhale and exhale. Now, visualize that oxygen is coming from the lungs and passing down through your bloodstream.

Visualize that while it is passing from every cell of your body, it gets fresh. Also, visualize it removing all the toxins from your body.

2-Heart Beating

After you are done visualizing breathe passing down through your body. Then, in the next step, you must want to visualize the heart beating.

So, visualize how the heart beats. And, visualize the perfect function of each body part. Visualize how they all get into harmony.

All of your organisms get fresh. They all get replaced. Your body is throwing away all the stress out of you.


In this step of meditation, you visualize every part of your body. You visualize how breathtaking the procedure is soothing your whole body system.

Isn’t it Interesting?

Visualize that, it is nourishing every muscle, cell, or organ of the body. You are getting force or energy to your whole organism system or your body.

3- Infuses Your Aura

In this step of meditation, you imagine how the breath is giving life to your whole body. It is life-giving energy that you are taking from the air.

Now, imagine this in the yellowish-orange colored circle. Imagine this energy is giving life to your body and infuses your aura around you.

Visualize that aura is becoming stronger, greater, and brighter around you. Do not do it fast. Do this step slowly. Visualize that it is getting charged by the energy.

Let the aura get brighter, stronger, and greater slowly.

4- Energize Each Chakra

In this step, you energize each chakra individually. You should start from the first one i.e root chakra in the lower back.

Now, visualize a clockwise swirl of energy around you. And this energy is making this swirl stronger and brighter. You need to move slowly from the first chakra to the last one.

Each chakra deserves several minutes. Give your all attention and focus to each chakra.

Now, let’s discuss each chakra individually.

  1. Root Chakra

The root chakra is basically at the base of the spine. It gives you the feeling that you are at the root. It controls or resolves several issues like financial independence, food, money, etc.

When your root chakra is open, you feel confident.  But, when it closes, you feel unstable or get threatened.

  1. Sacral Chakra

Sacral chakra sits at the lower abdomen or about 2 inches below your navel. It controls your emotions, creativity, well-being, and sexuality.

This will inform you about how you feel for others. Also, how your emotions are connected with others. When this chakra is open, you feel the pleasure.

But, when this chakra closes, you feel some lack of control in your life.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra

The third one, the solar plexus chakra is at the upper abdomen or in the stomach area. This chakra controls your self-confidence, self-worth, and self-esteem.

You feel a bit of pain in your stomach, that’s when the solar plexus chakra is at work. When this third chakra is open, you feel confident. Also, you feel free to express your feelings.

When this chakra closes, you feel some amount of shame or starts to self-doubt.

  1. Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra is in the center of the heart, just above the heart. This heart chakra is a bridge between the upper chakras and the lower chakras.

The heart chakra controls your ability to receive and give love. Also, controls the joy, and your inner peace.

When the heart chakra is open you feel empathy and deep compassion. But, when this chakra closes, you feel some difficulty while opening up yourself.

  1. Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is in the throat. It controls the voice to the heart and the ability to communicate. Also, it controls self-expression and truth.

When the throat chakra is open, you express yourself truly and clearly. But, when this chakra closes, you feel difficulty while communicating with someone.

  1. Third-Eye Chakra

You can call this chakra the brow chakra. Because its location is at the forehead between the eyes. This chakra controls your ability to see. Think about it as the eye of your soul.

When this chakra is open, it registers the information. Also, it controls your wisdom, imagination, and visualization.

  1. Crown Chakra

The last and the top chakra is Crown Chakra. It is the highest chakra and sits on the crown of the head. It controls your ability to be fully connected spiritually.

Also, it controls inner and outer beauty. When this crown chakra is fully open, you feel fully able to access the higher consciousness. And, only a few people can open this chakra.

Wrapping It All UP!!!

In the end, I hope you get all the information about how to do Chakra Meditation. Now, you can energize or work on each chakra individually.

Start from the root chakra and move slowly towards the crown chakra. Do this gradually. Give your body a comfortable position and time.

Feel relaxed and let the stress melts away from you. Now, in the end, you will feel positive energy throughout all your body.

Recent Posts